“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.” – Ferris Bueller

John Hughes 01

This sucks! This one is hard for me. This guy was such a big part of my childhood. I know, he was a big part of every Gen-Xers childhood. But not everyone is from Chicago. You see, I’m from Chicago. I was born and raised there. So was John Hughes. He never stopped being from there. He didn’t move to Hollywood. He stayed there. In Shermer, Illinois. That’s where we’re from. That’s where he lived. That’s where all those movies were shot. Not Shermer, because that’s a fictional place. You see, the northern suburbs of Chicago are Shermer. The towns of Winnetka, Northbrook, Niles, Glencoe, Highland Park, Evanston, Skokie, and my hometown of Park Ridge, were where he made those films. Why is this such a big deal to me, you may ask? Because the suburbs of Chicago were not Hollywood. We weren’t even the Valley. We weren’t used to this. Not before, nor since had so many films been shot in these locations. It was an amazing time period to grow up in as a teenager. I can’t even begin to describe how cool it felt to have where you are from, represented so beautifully on film.

51hoNW5ynpL._SS500_

51318EN5VML._SS500_

51C3C9AW28L._SS500_

SIXTEEN CANDLES, THE BREAKFAST CLUB, WEIRD SCIENCE, FERRIS BUELLER’S DAY OFF, UNCLE BUCK, PLANES, TRAINS, & AUTOMOBILES, and HOME ALONE are films I return to time again, not just because they’re great, but because I want to see what my home used to look like. It’s incredibly nostalgic for me in a way I never could have imagined back then. I love John Hughes for this and I will miss him greatly. They truly don’t make films like his anymore and the era of Shermer, Illinois has faded away. Thankfully, he gave us so many wonderful films to remember him by.

Leave a Reply

